Wednesday, February 29, 2012

New Novella from CdC Contributor!

I'm very excited to announce a new novella by Cashiers du Cinemart 16 contributor Karen Lillis, WATCH THE DOORS AS THEY CLOSE, which has just been released on the Spuyten Duyvil Novella Series. The story is set in both Brooklyn and Appalachian Pennsylvania, as it looks back on a troubled relationship that has just ended. In the tradition of Annie Ernaux's Simple Passion or Jean Rhys' city novels, the narrative traces the dynamics and subtle shifts in the affair, all while painting vivid scenes of New York Bohemia and American rural poverty at the turn of the Millennium.

Find out more about the book and Karen's East Coast & Midwest book tour, buy a book AND support the upcoming book tour in a few clicks.

What Readers Are Saying About WATCH THE DOORS AS THEY CLOSE:

"What I love most about Karen Lillis? writing is it makes me want to be a writer. We need more writers excited about the world than people who neuter it."

—Scott McClanahan, author of Stories and Hill William

"Aren't you tired of 'literary fiction'? When a writer assumes she knows you already, that you two are just alike, the same kind of clever, the same kind of ironic, but in her case maybe a little more so? This book cuts right through all that. It's naked. Naked as a knife."

—Mike DeCapite, author of Creamsicle Blue

"This brave new work tracks a thoroughly modern relationship, told as reflective, moody missives to the reader in the days after the doors have closed on love. The intimate feel of the read explodes and exploits the failure of the central relationship. Lillis is a master of the hauntingly-focused close-up."

—Connor Sites-Bowen

Be sure to visit IndieGoGo and support Karen's tour!

Rob St. Mary Joins The Projection Booth Podcast

For Immediate Release:

February 29, 2012 - Detroit, MI - Filmmaker & journalist Rob St. Mary officially joins The Projection Booth podcast ( with the latest episode. Having previously participated in discussions about Peter Watkins's “Punishment Park,” Daniel Minahan's “Series 7: The Contenders,” Kinji Fukasaku's “Battle Royale,” and Harold P. Warren's “Manos: The Hands of Fate,” St. Mary officially joins the podcast with the special anniversary episode of the show on Frank Henenlotter's “Frankenhooker.”

"It's been a crazy year," says Projection Booth co-founder Mike White. "With more than sixty episodes under my belt, I can say that the show started big and has continued to just get bigger ever since." Indeed, The Projection Booth boasts and all-star roster of guests including Menahem Golan, Uwe Boll, John Waters, Monte Hellman, Miguel Ferrer, Nancy Allen, Keith Gordon, Patrick Warburton, and many more.

White promises that the show is just getting started and lays out plans for future discussions of fantastic films like “Salo: 120 Days of Sodom,” “Freejack,” “Miami Blues,” “Silent Partner,” and “Zardoz.” "I'm incredibly excited about the ‘Raw Talent’ episode," White confides. "We're talking to the writer, director and star of this ground-breaking adult film. There aren't too many movies where Ron Jeremy gets in a karate fight. Only two come to mind."

"Before I was a part of the podcast, I was a fan," says St. Mary. "Mike has a great eye for underappreciated films and I hope I can return the favor." No stranger to cult films, St. Mary has been connecting people to great cinema past and present. St. Mary worked at what is considered the first video store in the nation, Thomas Video, and one of the better art house theatres in the Metro Detroit area, the Main Art Theatre. Before that, St. Mary made his own foray into filmmaking with a feature length documentary, “The Separation on State Street,” and an independent vampire/comedy, “Tainted” (available via Troma Entertainment).

Since 2001, St. Mary has been a radio news professional. During that time, he's been honored over two-dozen times for his feature and investigative work by statewide and national journalism organizations. Now, St. Mary is bringing his keen investigative spirit and sharp interview skills to The Projection Booth.

Started in March 2011, The Projection Booth is a weekly podcast with new episodes available every Wednesday via iTunes or Stitcher. The podcast is also syndicated via Jackalope Radio ( out of Kansas City, Missouri where it plays every Thursday at 7PM EST/6PM Central.

Follow The Projection Booth on Twitter at

Tuesday, February 28, 2012

Get Cashiers du Cinemart 16 for FREE

Do you have Amazon Prime? Then get a free copy of Cashiers du Cinemart #16 right now for your Kindle (or Kindle app -- the one on your phone, iPad, etc). Get it here.

Wednesday, February 01, 2012


Being without a day job sometimes has its advantages. I've had ample opportunity lately to begin researching in earnest some upcoming projects including helping Greydon Clark out on an autobiography and writing a book tentatively titled "Gould and Sutherland in the '70s." This may just become "Gould in the '70s" as I'm having some trouble connecting with Donald Sutherland.

It's kind of funny. Sutherland's publicist has been blocking me, asking why I would want to write about both of these guys "since they were only in one movie together." I had to really restrain myself from being a know-it-all and saying, "Actually, your client was in three films with Mr. Gould; M*A*S*H, Little Murders, and SPYS." I'm going to try to go around this person if I can but things aren't looking so good at the moment. If anyone has a better line to Donald Sutherland, I'd love to try it.

In the meantime, I'm having a heck of a lot of fun watching and re-watching Elliott Gould's output from the '70s and researching these films. I've even been lucky enough to track down some of his appearances on TV in things like an Olivia Newton-John special. Whoo-boy! I've re-pitched Gould on working with me on this project (if it were a non-Gould/Sutherland book) and await his response. Regardless, I'm going to go ahead with the project and just hope that he'll see fit to be a part of it. He has had a fascinating career and his work in the '70s was something of a microcosm of what that decade represents to me.

Of course, work on the podcast still continues. I've been very fortunate to speak to some fascinating folks and have had a blast recording these with a wide range of co-hosts. I can't believe it's been almost a year since that started. It's been both a highly-frustrating and rewarding process.

Thanks to everyone who's been so supportive while I've been off. I appreciate all the books that people have been buying and the links folks have been passing my way.